Vvt help needed

Piggysniffer

Hi all, I have issues with my avcs/vvt on my hawk wrx, I've logged the vvt for left and right and it looks like the issue is with the LEFT vvt 

can anyone tell me which side is considered to be the left vvt when logging with romraider please 

Sorry I saw vvt in the title and didn't even read it , as I have no experience with scooby vvt ,cos classics don't have it 😉

But you mentioning that it might be a left bank cam issue has reminded me of a fairly common fault which sometimes affects bugeyes.

It's a earthing issue that gives a left bank cam sensor fault which is resolved by attaching a extra earth to either the engine loom or left hand head (can't remember if it was 1 or both you have to earth ).

So it might be worth putting a extra temporary earth on that side to see if it resolves the fault ?

If it's not broke .....upgrade it 😊

Ok guys thanks, will have a little look into it savs, problem I'm having is with the actual cam gear I think, if I hold a steady throttle, eg:- 1600 rpm, the right bank will hold steady at 10 degrees of advance where as the left side will just search from 0 degrees up to about 22 then just keeps repeating that cycle all the way up and back down, gonna change the solenoids over to see if it changes sides, I've checked them for operation and they are fine outta the car but will try it anyway, the filters have been removed from the ocv banjo bolts too, so I think it's pointing at avcs cam wheel, this is where all my logged knock events have come from since I've had the car, cos with the avcs solenoids disconnected I have as close to no knock registered as you could hope to get