Is my new Scooby Terminal?

Oatmeal123

Hello everyone, :driving:

I found a scooby with a 1.5, I've been wanting one for quite some time now but as I'm a new driver insurance is gonna be top dollar, hence the 1.5. :laugh:

Now the 2007 model looks absolutely fantastic imo, this is the only one I've been able to find in the UK with a 1.5, in a lovely grey.

Checked over the car as well as I could before purchase, assuming the limited white smoke coming out the back was the result of the usual cold day. The engine was covered in a green residue but nothing was leaking anywhere and everything looked like it had been working for some time. 

So on the way back I notice a hissing sound, sounds like a broken vacuum line. There was some relatively minor overheating, just shy of 2/3rds on the gauge.

Didn't really think anything of it other than perhaps it just needed some additional liquids. So I sat in the drive and just wanted to see if it overheated whilst idle.

The white smoke just didn't disappear even after the engine had warmed up and a good half hour had passed. No overheating but the smoke persisted.

Took it to my parents usual garage and they checked it over and said the head gasket has likely blown. :g:

So the trade seller I bought it from gave me a 30 day guarantee on the car. I paid £1,600 for the car.

I've heard that blown head gaskets are common for this generation of impreza. I want to believe that repairing the HG will remedy the situation but I'm wary that it may not be the sole reason for the HG blowing. I'm under the impression that if it's just the one HG on one side then the remainder of the engine is likely fine so it would only involve the HG replacements to fix. Then it would work fine from then on. 

So my question is; should I have the car repaired at the sellers expense or should I just give up on it, move on, get a refund on the car and allow him to scrap it? I don't want to lose it so quickly :crybaby: