Career change

Rick 2014

Im a level 2 qualified Mechanic by trade and a Plumber as weird as it sounds.My main job is a Class 1 driver at the minute ive not worked in the garage in years but I do keep my hand in doing jobs.Yesterday my mate phones me up asking would I be interested in doing a bit of work on Saturday as two Mechanics have let the garage down I said ok and went in to give a hand.Today as strange as it sounds I had the owner of the garage come up to me and asked did I want a job :lol: he had been watching me all day and likes the way I work.I said the only way I would come back into the trade is if  I could do a level 3 nvq on site or day release at college and he snapped by arm off and said yes :) Ive just turned 34 as well and technology has changed rapid since I started my trade so I wanted to update my quals.I never thought for one minute id go into some where to help out and walk out with a job :lol: I could complete an nvq on site in 6 month if its all evidence based

• Like 2

Great news mate, anything to better your self is a win

I always wanted to get into the motor trade only to be told when I was at school that it's all computerised now a days and it wouldn't be a good career move. Tossers ! So spent the last 17 years doing jobs I have just fallen into.

• Like 1

I plan to emergrate to Oz as soon as I can so if I can get this out of the way and it wont be long leaving the UK.Emergrating has been on the cards for years and I feel like this is the last piece of the jigsaw puzzle finishing my quals off.Think its gonna cost £1600 for the on site nvq visits and basicly its like buying your own nvq lol.When I did my plumbing qual I got 6 visits on site in 6 weeks and the rest was paperwork :lol:

• Like 1