Forester 2.5 turbo XT 2006 Head Gasket

rusty999

Hi to all, I'm a newbie so hoping this is the correct forum to post about my problem.

I own a 2006 Forester XT turbo, 2.5 automatic and up until recently it was my pride and joy. However , out of the blue and for seemingly no reason the head gasket has gone, and both trhe head and the block need skimming. Which means both head gaskets need replacing as well and the best price I'm getting to repair it is 2,500 euros--I live in Ireland

A family friend has offered his 2002 Suburu legacy Outback at a knock down price as he was about to sell it anyway and it has a good engine and gearbox.

My question is: Would the engine from the Outback fit my Forester ?  The outback is a 2.5, same as mine and thats all I know about it for now.

Any info would be gratefully appreciated

Thanks

Rusty

The engine block it's self should fit not sure how much of the ancillaries you'll need to remove/swap over.

Check the vin plate on the legacy as it will have the engine code on it.

Many Thanks for the reply, Just as a matter of interest what other car engine would be suitable  or would a Suburu impreza engine fit ? They seem to be more common to find.

I'm beginning to think now that putting a 2002 outback engine into a nice clean 2006 forester body may not be the answer and if I could manage to find a 2006 engine instead even if its not an original forester at least I would still have a reasonably good car to drive.

Thanks again 

Rusty

• Like 1

Prerty much amy subaru engine will go in, you'll probably need to have it remapped after an engine swap as the injectors and things like that could be different.

I've even seen the 3l engine from the outback shoehorned into the foz.

• Like 1

I would not mess around wih sourcing another engine, you never know how good it will be, price won't be much cheaper & the 2.5 engine is prone to HG failure in general.