ej206 overheating

fernandos

hi, this is my first time coming to a forum so I'm not sure if I'm in the right department.

I have a Subaru Liberty 2002 B4 twin-turbo.

vehicle was driving fine till now.

it started overheating and I didn't let go of to the red on gauge cluster I shut the engine down.

the top radiator hose was very hot the bottom hose was cold i assumed the thermostat failed.

I replaced the thermostat the next day, started the car, and waited for the fan to come on,

the fan came on almost hitting the red on the gauge cluster.

shut the engine off and placed my hand on both radiator hoses, both were hot this time.

I tested the fan and it passed, I assumed the Engine Coolant Temp ECU Sensor the 3 pins plug is faulty

so i checked the parts on our auto store called Supercheap Auto they have a really good online

catalog of parts for this vehicle. So I'm bit puzzled due to seeing 2 sensors  on their catalog

1 is called the Engine Coolant Temp ECU Sensor the other is called the Engine Coolant Fan Temperature Switch

i found the Engine Coolant Temp ECU Sensor but I can not locate the other.

now I'm not sure if the auto store has made a mistake.

does anyone know if there are 2 sensors if there are where is that sensor located?

thank you

Untitled.png

Untitled1.png

18 hours later I got no help.

don't you all talk at once 🙂

1-I'm guessing that I posted this in the wrong place.

2-No one knows about Subaru B4 models even tho they are 21 years old.

3-everyone to busy in RL no time for forums.

4-all of the above 😂

A couple of questions - did you fit a genuine Subaru thermostat or a generic, and did you burp the cooling system afterwards properly? 

On the matter of "no help" - best to have patience and consideration for all of us, some of whom may have far more pressing life problems going on than to jump to reply to you?

6 hours ago, Greenmamba said: