Buying a Subaru XV privately! Guidance needed please.

Eslam Ghazy

Hello everyone,

I am a NHS doctor looking to buy a used car to commute to and from work, a 50 mile ride almost daily. I recently came a cross a 2015 Subaru XV with 72000 miles under its belt. I will be the third owner if the deal goes through. It doesn't have any serious faults and it passed an MOT this March. It has a cracked windshield that didn't stop it passing the MOT (would cost 315£ to change) and it doesn't have a spare wheel. My questions are:

1- how much does a spare wheel cost, and what will I need to do to make it fit in the boot, it doesn't seem to have space?

2- what would be a fair price for this car?

3- would this car be a good fit for the needs I stated? I have a small family, and I will use it for shopping and weekend trips as well.

4- are there any hidden running costs for this model? Its reviews on YouTube seem ok.

Thank you all...

Hey, and welcome. 

Is this a diesel or a petrol model you are looking? 

We have a 2013 diesel xv and it is just approaching that kind of mileage. So far outwith usual discs, pads, filters and fluids, all we have had to do is change wheel bearings, and the boot release switch. Bearings can be expensive using a subaru main dealer, but reasonable with an independent garage. 

I think soon we will need some general wear and tear items like bushings etc, but probably nothing out of the ordinary for that kind of mileage. 

As for a spare wheel, you will have to raise the boot floor slightly, remove the inserts, there was an option to get this from the showroom, but how many went for it I do not know. We have survived (touch wood) with just the gunk and tire inflator

I expect you would be able to get a tire for around £100.

On that note, tyres can be an unexpected cost as you are supposed to change all 4 at the same time, so for that reason, its worth getting them rotated and an alignment done to make the most of them.