Fault code reader.

Greg722

I have a universal engine OBD II code reader.

I am after one which reads and cancels ABS, air bag etc codes for my outback 2007.

I used to have one of these for my previous car

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/Audi-VW-Volkswagen-VAG-Code-Reader-Diagnostic-Scanner-Com-replaces-vs450-/271335094343?nav=SEARCH

Is there a similar equivalent for my Subaru?

Many thanks

Just found this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/iCarsoft-ICARSOFT-CR-PLUS/dp/B011YFCXUE/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1439029039&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=Icarsoft+CR+Plus+Multi+Vehicle+Diagnostic+System

As it covers many cars should mean i dont need to buy one each time I change my car??

Does anyone have experience of this?  Not after an all singing dancing one as im not a professional mechanic. But a good DIY one is desired.

Thanks

What kind of phone fo you have ?

You can get dongles that connect to your phone for a fiver that will do a good job, alternatively you could look at downloading a free copy of the subaru select monitor 2 that will require a laptop to run but it's specific to subaru and will do a lot more than the generic ones above

It should run ok it does on win 7

I'm in the mode of a field at the mo but if you do a search from ssm2 there's a good thread on subaru forester.Org about it and what you need, I'll post up links later.

As for dongle for iphone I think you need a wifi one, have a look in the app store for odb2 app

Thanks i will have a look!

If you could post later too that would be awesome, I have no understanding of these systems and get the feeling I could spend lots and have a system that doesnt work.

Thanks for the responses.

I managed to get a VAG cable a mate had one lying around. The freessm program worked with out an issue and cable was installed on windows 10 with out a CD.