Turbocharger rebuild advice

Hello all

I have removed the turbo charger from my fathers 2003 Forester XT (TF035 HM 49135-04500) in an attempt to troubleshoot a performance issue

On inspection there is significant play in the shaft in all directions. I have no previous experience with turbo charged engines

Is anyone able to offer any recommendations for the next steps?

I have attempted to source a replacement CHRA but suppliers have replied stating that a suitable replacement is not available. I have also had separate advice stating that balancing would be required after a new CHRA was installed anyway

Do any particular turbo repair companies stand out for their service and value for money based on people's experience?

Thanks in advance

Steven

What we're the symptoms that you had and what turbo is fitted to the foz ?

As if its a tdo4 they rarely fail and are readily available second hand , due to being upgraded on most modified impreza wrx's. Also the tdo4's are a journal base core which require a film of oil to take up the play on the shaft , so if it hasn't been run for a while will have "side to side" play .

Afaik most new or refurbished turbo cores come pre balanced and can just be fitted to the old turbos compressor housings 

Hi there - thanks for your reply

It is a TF035 HM turbo (#49135-04500). This turbo seems to be quite widely used (Mistubishi L200's, Ford Transit?) but the CHRA's are not available for this specific part number (04500) from the suppliers I have contacted

The car was performing as if there was no turbo installed. I struggled to get past 60mph on a test drive

I could not see any issues with any of the vacuum hoses or intake pipework with everything connected. The exhaust had a small leak at the union from the 2nd (of 2 cats) to the centre exhaust section