Diagnosing pinking/knocking with Android TOrque Pro app

dvines

Hi Everyone,

I'm in the UK with a 2.5 non-turbo 2005 car.

I
am having real problems with knocking/pinking in my car, especially
when the weather is hot. Now the weather has cooled down a little it is
better, but it is stil doing it at times.

I am getting it when I
lift off the throttle, then goback on the throttle at low speeds, eg
intown. 2000rpm/20mph in2nd gear (its a 4-speed auto) sem to be the
trigger points.

I have teracleaned the car (removes carbon), replaced the knock sensor, changed the plugs, and cleaned the MAF sensor and beyond thatam at my wits end to know where to go next.

Just
bought the ANdroid Torque app and a Bluetooth scanner but not really
sure what I am looking for in the logs, or what to log.

I used to be a research scientist so used to looking at this kinda stuff, but really need somehwere to get started and focus on.

anyone help me with what to log (and how to log the knock sensor with this app - Ican't find the option)/

David

what software are you using for the android app Torque Pro what I use gives you a list of error codes. 

I would look at the air side of things with everything else you have said you have done Check for cracks or split's on the air intake. And check the MAF (mass air flow sensor) Other then that I'm not really sure as you seem to have done everything for the fuel side of things. Hopefully Tlag MD Bips or Adam might be along all very knowledgeable with Subaru engine far more then I have :D

Oh and welcome to S.O.C ;) 

Agree sounds like incorrect mixture - running lean through too much air

A long shot but - do you know if the car has had the ECU altered at all as if it had been done when the engine had the deposits in place it will now be set incorrectly.

Are your plugs in good condition are your injectors in good condition, you have decoked the lump but the injectors may also need some ultrasonic treatment