Help on remapping/flashing the ecu

hi guys,

im new to all the Scooby modding scene and need some advice.

im picking up my first Scooby on Wednesday and this is the spec.

1995 impreza wrx 2ltr turbo

Closed deck ej20 , GC8
Engine has just had full rebuild crank reground .25, race shells and upgraded
pistons standard bore size ,new head gaskets standard size, full gasket set I
mean everything, all valves re ground and reseated new stem seals , oil pump
modified to increase oil pressure , new crank seals casings painted red and
every thing on engine hss been done down to cleaned up bolts done by hand
magnetic sump plug brand new clutch

has a td05 turbo off a evo

has induction kit

3" ss exhaust.

now the owner has said to me that it could prob do with a remap but thinks it has the standard ecu on the car.

first is this possible and is this different from a dyno tuning test

Thanks in advance

Pete

There are places that can remap the OEM ECU

- a dyno will give you a read out of the BHP and how your car is running - rich, lean etc some places do use a rolling road to set the fuelling through the rev range, other places however will do it in car on the road but what you then get is a BHP estimate. The outcome is the same though but I understand not using the dyno is cheaper

No mate I'm near Grimsby just outside near a village called North cotes :)But do go to Scunny some times

yeah I know it, my parents used to live there on the old base.

Oh right small world ;) Well looking at doing a meet up with everyone who can make it over the summer holidays if you fancy popping with the family for a BBQ

Yeah that would be great.

Also on a note of the remapping thing everyone im contacting is saying you cant remap a oem ecu on a 95 impreza wrx.

either I need to buy an aftermarket ecu or get it chipped if I can.