Forest XT 4th Gen - Spare Wheel!

lexus_driver

Hi Everyone

I'm a newbie here, so hope I'm not breaking any rules!

The new Forester XT is a pretty amazing bit of kit - it seems to offer much better value for money than the equivalent offerings from (say) Lexus :)

I have a question about the spare wheel.  The standard equipment is a temporary space-saver wheel which fits under the floor in the boot.  It looks like we ought to be able to fit a full-sized wheel in there instead, but we can't - the floor panel won't close over it properly.  I did notice that the XT seems to have bigger wheels than the other models.

The question is: Is there a different floor panel specially for XT owners who choose the full-size spare wheel option?  Or have Subaru boobed?

Cheers

J

Hi mate welcome to the forums :)

And as for your question it's safe to say I don't know :D But I don't have a forester either so hopefully someone who does might be able to help ;) 

Wotcha and welcome - love your member name for a scooby forum :D

We do have some Forrester owners on here so they may be able to help advise

Yes, sorry about the member name.  It's actually the Mrs who's the Forester owner - but I'm quite jealous of her new one.  She's afraid of computers, which means she won't be posting here.  It also means she's terrified of all the buttons on her new car, but I'm here to help...

I thought posting to "Subaru Forester Club" might reach some Forester owners/dealers... :)

It will certainly reach the owners - dealers only tend to contribute on here with discounts and special events, it would be nice to get some advice from them but not so far

sorry i can't be of any help with not having a new model but my spare wheel well looks like it's big enough to accommodate a full size wheel but it's not, the rim is 16 inch on the space saver, and the depth looks nearly a foot in the well but the size and width of the space saver Tyre is tiny. (i was quite bored at work last night)