Jay762

Hi all,

right so I am new to the whole scooby experience and dont know what to expect with certain things being the norm or not.

After two weeks Im still smiling wrt the engine performance but I am not particularly impressed with the brakes - there seems to be very little feel when initially applying the pedal and if you want to pull up sharpish you really have to stand on them.

I thought initially it was stuck pistons (previous owner had it stood for a bit) so I had all the calipers off, gave a good clean, checked the pads for uneven wear and ensured all pistons came out when the pedal was pumped - all ok.

There was no name on the front pads but there are Brembo pads ftted to the rears.

My next line of approach is to replace the pads with EBC red or yellow items (used green before and been happy with those) and or fit braided lines.

Am I to expect any difference or do scoobies generally have a wooden feel and it is something I should adapt to? :huh:

cheers

J

Both Subaru's I have at home feel the same. So I think it's normal, but giving them a change will not do any harm for own piece of mind.Saying that I don't notice it now. I had a problem on the Bugeye, I was track daying I over took another car and I really had to stamp on the break for the next corner, and they soon faded away to the point I just made the corner with the help of gearing down. So I will be replacing all four on mine very soon, but they look like there is plenty of life left in them :( But I have not changed them since I had her so might have been cheap when I bought the car to replace the original's.

And I'm sure your front calipers should have been Brembo, the same as the back. But some will say STI on the front.