Can someone recommend an affordable UP-Pipe please?

Paul_JJ

I have a 1997 forester with an impreza Engine EJ20G, I suppose the up-pipe is the same for impreza as well. Mine needs replacing as welding it most likely won't be a long term fix... Can you advise please? I'm relatively new to Subaru world!

Thank you.

The standard v1 to v6 impreza up pipe is the same and any of those will fit your foz . If you decide to go aftermarket stay away from up pipes with "flexi's" or bigger bores like japspeed or toyo sports as these will loose you spool and hp .

As performance sell "trick " up pipes which increase spool and the likes of haywood & Scott sell slip jointed ones that stop the gaskets blowing (both will need mapping in to get the benefits )

Whichever direction you go make sure you buy new oe gaskets, studs and nuts from the likes of import car parts as the eBay cheap ones don't last [emoji6]

If it's not broke .....upgrade it 😊

• Like 1

Does the standard one has a flexi??? Or why the aftermarket with flexi is bad? is it putting strain on the gaskets or something? After reading this I feel like looking for OEM used pipe -) And yes I've got a new set of gaskets and nuts from ICP, wasn't cheap though.

Would the one from 2005 forester fit? It has a cat and Lambda in the pipe, but my lambda is located on the downpipe and I can always gut it -) so that sounds like a cheap and reliable option for me? I suppose I have TD04 turbo and not sure what is on 2005 model would that definitely FIT my 1997 car??? Pics below

s-l1600.jpg

s-l1600.jpg

Classics don't have a pre cat in the up pipe only the newage , so if your foz hasn't got 1 I'd say get 1 without a pre cat . As although it will "mechanically" fit it would be more restrictive with the pre cat in and need to be remapped.

Well, if that would fit, than I think it would be a good start for me, as I can always gut the actual cat. The price is just very good for that.