RPM AND BOOST

Hi guys im hoping someone can help I recently bought a 2002 wrx bug eye model and Im not sure when the boost should kick in atm it seems like its at full boost at 3750 rpm but doesnt start pullin till bout 3000 rpm is this normal for a standard turbo model all thats bin done to the car is a baileys dump valve and cat back ss exhaust im new to the scooby world so again not sure if its runnin properly or not as I read that it should b kickin in at 2000 rpm cheers for readin.

No no smoke but I have had an issue with the dump valve stickin so got to take it apart clean it and greese it up loads apparently wat do u mean by manual boost controll lol im not that mechanicly minded haha but sometimes it does seem lumpy like its gunna boost then abit more then abit more if that makes sense

get yourself some silicone lubricant spray or use WD40, take the dumpvalve off, if its attached to the intercooler its 2 12mm bolts, and undo the vacuum hose, this is connected to top of dumpvalve, no with the dump valve spray some directly into the bottom of the DV (dumpvalve) then press the bottom, you may have to use a bit of force and move it a few times just to spread the oil around, then spray some into the opening part of the DV the part that makes the psssstt sound. wipe any excess with a cloth or tissue and allow 10mins for it to work into itself. Refitting is reserve of removal becarful no to over tighten the screws into the intercooler, then start the car, the dump valve should open, now carefully spray a tiny bit into the open dump valve and rev a few times, nothing excessive but enough to move your dumpvalve.

As for the boost controller I wouldn't worry about it just I found mine had a manual boost controller that was causing mine not to boost :) hope this helps.

• Like 2