1995 impreza engine?

Hey I'm new with subaru's just got my first one. I got it 2 days ago and all I have had is problems. The oil was leaking badly. Seen it coming from the sump. Put it to a garage and he is telling me the engine has at some point hasn't had oil and the engine is knackerd. Sump is cover with instant gasket sealer. So need new engine I was told it was a gl 2.0 and had a wrx turbo engine put in. How can I tell if it is the wrx.

All I can see is the ej20 code on the block please help. Please help

Hi mate sorry to hear about the car :( easy way to say if its the turbo engine/WRX. If that's what you are asking would be that the Inter cooler is at the back of the engine under the bonnet scoop and to the left hand side of that below it you should see the turbo. failing that if you can get a picture uploaded of the engine be able to tell a little better :) 

And was it a private sale sold as seen ? 

Sounds like it was sold on quick with known faults :( 

It's not easy to identify where the block has come from as they all use the same case, and it's easy to take a standard 2.0 engine from a non-turbo car and fit it with heads and turbo etc from a turbo car for a quick, cheap fix.

If the engine is out of the car take the heads off and look at the pistons. If they are flat then the bottom end is from a non-turbo and the compression ratio will be too high and it will fail with a turbo. If the pistons have a large scoop cut in them then they are from a turbo car (the cut-out in the pistons is to lower the compression ratio). You still wont be able to say if it's a WRX or STi, but its a start.

• Like 2

Wotcha and welcome Jon - sorry to hear you have some initial problems, is there any chance of some money back from the place you got it?

If not you could look at a replacement engine / engine rebuild or possibly breaking the car to recoup some of the outlay