What to pay for Forester?

Hughieboy

Hello out there!

I've been looking around for a used Forester XT, preferably a 2.5 and almost certainly automatic. I was hoping to spend 3-4k so have been looking at cars from '04 to '06 age with around 100k on the clock. The reason for posting on here is that I'm new to the world of Subaru's and I 'm trying to get a handle on pricing as it seems to be all over the place! I have seen 55 plate cars that look great with 70 - 95k miles priced anywhere from £4.5k to 6k and beyond yet when you check Glass's, What Car, Parkers, CAP etc they nearly always estimate the values at £1500 to £2000 (or even more)  less than the dealers (or private sales to some degree) are asking. Hence, not wanting to get stitched up, I haven't yet bought a car!

I'm trying to work out whether sellers are over pricing or if the used car valuations are massively undervaluing. I'm happy to pay the going rate but I wouldn't want to fork out, say, £5k for an '05 car to find out a few weeks later it's only worth £2.5k if you see what I mean.

Can anyone with a better idea than me shed any light on what's right and wrong here? Maybe supply and demand?

It would be great to get some info on this. My other choice may be an Outback, the differences don't seem quite so great on these,

Many Thanks,

Hugh.

There will be a bit of supply and demand at this time of year. You'll probably find 55 plate cars attract a premium too as they fall into the lower tax bracket.

Other than that, look for a full service history including a cambelt change. 4 to 5k at this time of year should get you a good, well looked after example

Sent from my iphone using Tapatalk

As above, 04 and 05 get premium as better road tax bracket. don't buy a 2006, road tax is crazy and they harder sell on .

this time of year jumps price 500 to 1000

good ones can be had as low as 2500 but needs be private sale.

Plenty good XT's about and autos easier/cheaper find.