Impreza EJ20 N/A mods?

Hi everyone, I just bought a GF (with naturaly aspirated EJ20) for really cheap, just to have fun, to start wrenching. I have NO experience with working on cars except things like changing oil, brake pads, calipers, discs, spark plugs..just the basic stuff. I bought the car to experiment, it was 200€, its not road legal, I expect Im gonna screw up at some point and blow the engine. So don't even go there - I know I don't have the experience, that's why I bought the car. Question is - what mods can I do to the engine that would actually increase its power? Something I could do at home, by myself I want to go the NA way, Im not gonna turbo it, not an option. Neither is a swap - I want to work on the engine, not swap it, even though that might be the best way to get more hp. Less restrictive exhaust? Improve the airflow to the engine? Better cams? Which ones? Bigger throttle body?

Best thing to make your car fast is buy a binned wrx and transplant the engine

Subarus without turbos dont go much faster even piling loads of money into them.you need a turbo

If you must spend money focus on handling mate thats where you will notice improvements paying off

• Like 1

What I would like to achieve is 100ish kW (134hp) or at least be in that area..95kW is good enough. It is 85kW (114hp) from factory, I think that should be achievable. It's not like I'm aiming for the big numbers like 150kW at the wheels, I'm just looking for a way in, start working on th engine.
100kW for a naturaly aspirated 2litre engine is something many manufacturers offer from factory.

Well as with any n/a car you could look at

Exhaust system with decat

Induction kit

If you get borla headers you can make it sound like a proper turbo

Then things get expensive with options such as porting and polishing ect 

Ive had 3 sports and i loved them and they satisfied my urge untill i could get an sti

Wotcha and welcome.