My First Forester??

Honitonman

Hi All

An absolute newbie to Subaru and this forum, but am looking for some advice and guidance on what to look for when buying a Forester.

Budget means that I am probably looking at a Forester diesel between 2008 and 2011 with less than 70k miles on the clock.

Any advice and guidance would be great.

Thanks very much

Honitonman 

Hello & welcome,

The usual applies really when looking at the forester, that you'd look for on most cars however I'd try and buy the latest model year you can afford/find as the early diesels suffered from, snapped cranks, glow plug and dpf issues, as far as I'm aware the crank issue was addressed and the dpf issues were more down to the use of the car,

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Main pointers if going for diesel is indeed 2011 going be better option than 2008 to 2010 . only good thing with 2008 was it pre dpf which nice, the crank issue is pretty serious and likely cost you more than the car value . DPF is an awful concept which in long term creates more waste and lowers potential mpg of modern diesels and complete waste of engineering and production effort and one reason I against modern emissions on diesels .

Be sure test drive vehicle minimum of twice and combination of b roads and dual carriageways, be sure clutch feels spot on as these expensive and known be bit problematic (DMF, dual mass flywheel)

Make sure engine runs smooth and no odd knocking or rattling hot or cold . Be very particular (ignore any seller bluff) and any doubts walk away as problems on these can be super expensive and almost like a french peugeot in likeness to some issues not fixable as ecu firmware or oem part related with no revisions available .