First time Subaru owner from Lichfield

Chris335i

Hey! I'm Chris, 25 and first time owner. After admiring from afar for years i decided to go for it so I just bought a Hawkeye WRX! I have already penciled in things I'm gonna buy for it haha! As a gearbox reconditioner by trade I hope to provide some insight from time to time in exchange for the forums wealth of experiance with Subaru :D

For my first question I'd like some advice. My WRX has the small standard spoiler and i have always prefered the bigger STI one. Whats my best option?

Can anyone vouch for these?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ABS-PLASTIC-SUBARU-IMPREZA-WRX-STI-VERSION-7-8-9-REAR-BOOT-SPOILER-GDA-GDB-2001-/251347166136?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item3a857563b8

I'm aware that some drilling would be involved with my current WRX boot lid. And I know plenty places to get it painted.

OR how difficult would it be for me to find a STI bootlid in silver?

Look forward to hearing from you! :lol:

Hi mate welcome to S.O.C 

Nice choice of car (clearly from a complete bias view) ;)

When I changed the Blobeyes rear spoiler from the WRX I didn't need to do any drilling at all swapped over, I did put some silicon over the holes though, but I went with buying one that was already sprayed my colour from a breakers. Had a few marks as you would expect but still look's great IMO :)

So that's the route I would recommend I was searching for a few weeks, and all in was about £280 with P&P. Still think it was cheaper then getting one sprayed, but I don't know anyone who does that :D

But if you really can't wait or have the time to search then I'd say be as good as any spoiler really. Any problem I have found with these types is if the break light bulbs go in the spoiler is replacing them. 

And please feel free to have a look around and join in on the threads, great bunch of people on here that are happy to help and have a laugh. 

:D