diesel partiticulate filter

I have a 59 plate outback 2.0sen.  I've got the DPF light flashing along with the engine light, parking brake & stability mode lights on. I had no warning they just all appeared. The only thing I noticed was that the turbo was lagging since I came back from having it serviced a month ago.

I have an OBD reader but it will not clear the codes. I don't have a Subaru agent here (I'm on Orkney) & no-one is expert with them here at the local garages.

Do I have to take it to a dealer or is there something I can do or buy to cure it.

thanks

I am no expert but when I was looking at buying my diesel I did some research I saw something about this that was to do with glow plugs on the earlier euro diesels. Best bet is to contact your local dealers and get their suggestions, if you search glow plugs on here I think you'll find something about it, certainly will on the internet as it seemed to be quite a well known issue.

• 8 months later...

What was the root cause of the dpf getting blocked?  until you find this then the problem will just come back.

Are they using the correct oil in servicing?  are they resetting the oil dilution and making sure the pak files are upto date? have they carried out injector and fuel pump relearn?

What is the driving style of the vehicle?  is the intercooler hose which attaches onto the right hand side of the intercooler ok, these have split and allow extra air and lack of performance and the car cannot carry out the full regen cycle?

The dpf is a non moving part so something has caused it to block

Alex

On the Kia forums, there is plenty of info about DPF problems. Seems that low mileage or short journeys, when the engine does not get properly hot, is the main cause of DPF blockage. When I part exed my C4 for the Kia, the salesman put me off a diesel, as I was doing too low a mileage, and they did not want me turning up with a blocked DPF too often!!!.