Coolant?

Hey folks,

Currently doing a bunch of research as I'm planning on doing a bunch of service stuff to my scooby myself... most of which I've never done before! So been doing plenty of research, watching youtube vids etc...

What I need to do:

Change coolant, gearbox/diff oil and maybe spark plugs if I'm feeling particularly brave.

While doing my research, I can find a general consensus for what oil and plugs to use... but not coolant. What do you guys use/recommend?

Also should I flush my system out first with some sort of gunk remover and distilled water first? Or just do a straight coolant swap?

Ta!

• Like 1

I had similar difficulties with coolant and ended up going with Subaru Super Coolant which was the only one people seemed to recommend. You only seem to beable to buy it from Subaru dealers, couldn't really find anywhere online which sells it cheaper.

Sent from my iphone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

@Sandals

37 minutes ago, Sandals said:

Hey folks,

Currently doing a bunch of research as I'm planning on doing a bunch of service stuff to my scooby myself... most of which I've never done before! So been doing plenty of research, watching youtube vids etc...

What I need to do:

Change coolant, gearbox/diff oil and maybe spark plugs if I'm feeling particularly brave.

While doing my research, I can find a general consensus for what oil and plugs to use... but not coolant. What do you guys use/recommend?

Also should I flush my system out first with some sort of gunk remover and distilled water first? Or just do a straight coolant swap?

Ta!

Ok i have changed the coolant myself and thus researched this quite a bit, what we need for out cars are NAP free coolants (Nitrate, Amine, Phosphate)

I personally use this:

fuchs fricofin £20 + £3 distilled water and bobs ur uncle. (makes 10L)

OR

Motul inguel £26 (makes 5L but i reckon our cars use 6.5l of coolant so ull need to buy 2)

As for gearbox/diff oil: