Hefty Suspension Bill: Control Arms £270 each?

Peroni

2010, 2.0l Petrol, Manual SH model.  

Been quoted £270 each for suspension control arms and I need two of them, as well as rear link rods & some other bushes, so looking at a hefty bill.

Is that £270 valid? Car mechanic ( whom I trust) saying that they can not source front control arms from any where other than Ian Grieve Subaru in Falkirk. Mechanic says he can get aftermarket parts for all the other bits but no one does control arms. Does that sound right? He said the front bushes can be replaced but rear bushes are built-in to the arm and whole arm must come out. Again, is that correct?

I'm new to Forester ownership and was expecting to have to put a couple of things right but a near £1k bill for suspension work is scaring me. I will need to source second hand and do the mechanical work myself from now on, to try to make savings. Feeling I should have listened to those who told me Subarus cost a fortune to maintain.

Only had suspension checked out because I want to have underside treated with anti-rust ( Dinitrol) process and wanted any suspension work done first. Looks like Xmas will be "subject to efficiency measures" chez Wulbert this year.

No doesn't sound right to me.

You can get pattern arms (about 60 to 100quid)
Best always keeping quality original arm if clean and fit new bushes (front and rear bush press fitment)

Febi Bilstein do the bushes at around £22 for front control arm rear bush

With bushes got be fussy on brands, Febi Bilstein, Febest pretty good products with good lifespan .

Bushes be around £50 per arm and I could fit bushes to both arms in hour and a half so that around £220 , if needed drop link or ball joints as extras that pretty cheap .

I would need see car be specific or at least pics to confirm part numbers but doubt you need spend much more than £420 do all that work