Decided going for a wrx blobeye

Wrxscooby1

So I've decided to go for a blobeye wrx and I will be looking to tune for a fast road set up , my first mods I'd be looking in to would be suspension and brakes as for me handling and braking is the most important thing and power comes last 

As for power I'd want a reliable tune and looking into the 260-280bhp mark as I feel with a good suspension and braking set up and decent rubber this would be a good useable b road car 

Some of the threads I have read seem to say 280bhp is a fairly reliable power figure for these engines , any other advice or recommendations welcome as I am new to Subaru's so I'm as fresh as a daisy here so I might need some help along the way !

Feel free to create a project thread.

IMO your approach seems spot on.

Obvously choices there for suspension and chassis stiffening - ARB's etc dependent on how stiff you want it. Brakes will be limited by your wheels so your choice can be quite easily narrowed down based upon that

Power, if I remember correctly. Panel filter (Cosworth, K&N, etc), STI top mount intercooler, freer flowing exhaust plus map for the mods will give a small power increase but a nice driveable motor.

But if you are looking at the handling, and driving in a more more spirited manner I would consider a sump baffle plate, stronger pick up with the rubber attachment, replace the fuel pump, particularly if it is over 5 - 8 years old. Possibly an oil cooler making sure your petrol and oil are in good supply and at teh right temp for sustained revs with higher corner G    

• Like 1

Hi n welcome,  I'd echo what jay has said and generally just a panel filter and remap would see 260 to 280 hp . Pending on budget most fit a de cat up pipe before mapping , as the wrx has a pre cat in the up pipe that restricts flow.

But at your target hp not many mods are required before mapping .