Very light smoke

Daryl

As tidgy has said the rocker gasket and half moons are the usual culprits in that area .

20200621_095527.thumb.jpg.2601f07a307f125124064bb077627bb9.jpg

As the up pipe runs very close to the seals on that side and they get brittle from the heat cycles. Only other thing that has oil in that area is the turbo , so might be worth checking the turbo oil drain and feed before ordering anything 😉

• Thanks 1

Thanks savage much appreciated I'm a novice with these engines still the picture helped I'm on the wave length now👍 I'm gonna have a proper look tonight ill get it jacked up tonight an try an get a better look underneath. As for checking the turbo drain an feed where about is that?

Something I've just thought about I recently had the IC off so I could change the pcv...  I used oil for lube to get the ic back in could it have maybe blown through an caused the white smoke?

• Like 1

If the smoke is in the bay and not coming out of the back box then it sounds like a external leak dripping on the exhaust system ,rather than a internal leak (engine burning oil).

This is on a ej207 I built but the oil feed to the turbo connects to the white circle.

Then goes through the turbo , drains down a rubber pipe (bottom centre of the turbo) and into a hard pipe that returns the oil into the engine where the yellow "circle " (excuse my sausage finger circle drawing ) 😂

20200621_111349.jpg.ab263bcdf5cee3fb14226fae79db5e70.jpg

The turbo drain pipe is probably best seen from underneath and is held to the turbo oil drain take off and oil drain return hard pipe by spring clips .

Tbh it's more likely to be the cam cover gasket/half moons but thought its worth mentioning the above while your looking in that area .

Wouldn't want to say whether it's safe to drive, as it depends how bad the leak is and where it comes from but if you need to use it .... keep a eye on levels and off boost ,as if its leaking oil too much it might cause a drop in oil pressure.