what ecu for more bhp ??

hi guys im new to the subarus i have a 1996 classic wrx, its running around 320 bhp with basic mods like hks air filter dump valve and straight through exhaust. how can i get more bhp ? i got quoted 600 pound for a new ecu and a re map what gains would i get? and is this a good price? im in east sussex. i have seen apexi ecu,s on eBay for around 350 pound whats my best option ?.

thanks guys and girls.

I can't see you getting much more with the ECU they might get it to 350. But I would check before going and spending the money 1st they should be able to tell you. £600 seems a lot to me but depends on what they are selling you. And again with going for the ECU on eBay you can only take it as far as your engine mods. So think if your looking at taking her over the 400BHP mark you will need to get some more mods under the hood too.

As the ECU puts a specific amount of fuel in the chambers at specific time intervals in theory you could have a standard subaru unit remapped and have 1500 bhp churned out. Its the other mods that will give the most returns and the ECU should be remapped to ensure optimum running in conjunction with the mods.

You have a a good initial set of mods there and I would wager the ECU has already been remapped to suite.

Air in Exhaust out - done

next step would be more fuel in - uprated fuel pump and bigger injectors, high flow manifold - remap to suite

bigger bang equals more heat - not good sorted by bigger (possibly STI unit) or front mount intercooler

next could be bigger turbo but...

if you are going to run more boost you would need to look at ensuring the head can take it - thicker gasket to lower the compression ratio and uprate the bolts + oil pump

if you have the head apart you could look at stroker kits and forged pistons, lighter components reduce inertial mass and dont rob as much energy giving more bhp

you could transplant an EJ25 unit