First weekend in Scooby

Gaulson

Well this weekend was my first weekend driving a Subaru and as I have only been driving around in small hatchbacks I must say it's a big change! Obviously the biggest change is the way the power is delivered... kind of like "coming... coming... coming... HERE" and it's certainly got it's charm.

So basically seeing as I am new to the car, some tips would be welcome, such as how to set off in a hurry. At the moment it takes me a bit to get to 20mph as I don't want to do something wrong.

So far I know:

- Warm the car up before driving and warm it down before switching off

- Run on Ultimate unleaded which I have so far put 1 full tank in

Also is there anything that is frowned upon?

Many thanks in advance!

Warming up and down are the most important in day to day driving, keep the turbo healthy. Obviously regular servicing keeps the engine healthy, twice a year I do mine. Takes some time getting used to turbo'd cars, coming from lightweight NA cars myself it is a big difference, the revs came much quicker in the NA cars for me. But getting off the line quickly is the same technique, rev it higher before releasing clutch and more power and acceleration, depends how much stress you want to put through the clutch though. And keeping it in the rev range with boost available takes some time but worth it when you learn it. Just keep driving it and you will naturally learn. Very enjoyable down a back road on boost the whole way.... Nothing frowned on really, just be sensible, no need to speed through towns or near schools, just general common sense. Oh and be sure to bait some Beemers

Thanks for the advice, yeah I have found I am being more sensible in the Subaru, would prefer to be known as the "nice guy who owns the Subaru" rather than the opposite ;) . On my drive home from work today it started to feel a lot more natural to me so give me a couple of weeks and I should be settled in.