Advice on Detailing car.

Scooby Pete

Right this weekend I want to have a go at waxing the car.

Bear in mind I'm not a pro and will not be doing an 18 stage ph neutrlising 25 bucket method wash :D

My plan is:

Snow foam.

Alloy wheel foam.

Wash

Dry

Meguiars quik detail and claybar.

Wash

Dry

autoglym super resin polish

autoglym gloss protection.

Then wax. I was looking at some of the wax's and they all mention a priming stage before using them.

I was only going to get a sample of Dodo juice as its enough for 4 cars :)

The next question is I am looking at a DA http://www.i4detailing.co.uk/shop/kestrel-das6-dual-action-machine-polisher.html and wondered if this one is any good? its not going to be used every day prob only 3 or 4 times a year.

ta :)

That DA is the type of thing Miggs recommended to me when we were chatting - if you are going to wax I dont know as you need the gloss protection also if you are looking at the DA you could look at some poorboys swirl remover prior to the polish, this would have a different waffle pad to the wax applicator / buffer

Actually I think poor boys do a SSR which sorts the polish layer as well... here you go

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111107311549?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

As mentioned previous, you shouldn't need the gloss protection in addition to the dodo wax. That DA looks fine to me for the job too....I don't have one yet but it's on the bucket list. I'll probs go for the meguairs one myself or the dodo buff daddy if your looking for something closer to the cost of that one

Sent from my iphone using Tapatalk

ooh, I do this every other weekend :)

Rinse the car off, then wash with autoglym shampoo using the two bucket method. Then I will dry the car using a microfiber cloth. Then polish with autoglym resin polish and buff off with another microfiber. I'll then wax on and buff off with another microfiber. I use this wax by the way, its amazing stuff :)