High Voltage!!!

BoozyDave

I've been testing a factory in Nottingham, voltage should be 230 volts. I checked the red phase and it was 240 volts, then the yellow phase, it was 245 volts, then checked the blue phase and got this :wacko: :wacko: :wacko: I think I've found out why equipment keeps blowing up ;)

DSC_0655_zps7lcwncgw.jpg

• Like 1

I'm no expert but that doesn't sound right.

I remember having an argument about earthing a temporary site cabin with an inbuilt 16kVa generator. I got the response "we don't need to earth it it's fitted with an RCD". Some people eh?

Sent from my iphone using Tapatalk

nominal voltage is 230 volts + or - 10%, so maximum allowed is 253 volts

earthing stuff can be taken too far sometimes. if the generator is in the cabin and connected to the chassis, then it won't need an external earth rod

I've seen plastic gas and water pipes with bonding clamps on! I mean WTF.

if the gas or water comes into the property in plastic and it then copper throughout the installation it doesn't need bonding.

Sorry see the title and this came to mind. Thought I would share what goes on in my mind ;)

But I'm pretty sure thats the reason why stuffs blowing. My question would be why is it that high in the 1st place  :blink:

nominal voltage is 230 volts + or - 10%, so maximum allowed is 253 volts

earthing stuff can be taken too far sometimes. if the generator is in the cabin and connected to the chassis, then it won't need an external earth rod

I've seen plastic gas and water pipes with bonding clamps on! I mean WTF.

if the gas or water comes into the property in plastic and it then copper throughout the installation it doesn't need bonding.

Not according to the British standards or the IEE guidance on temporary cabins and free standing generators . It says anything over 10kva to be earthed. If the chassis becomes live how would the RCD trip unless it leaked to earth?