Air intake - something missing here?

Hi,

New to the forum (and Subaru's) and I have my first question about my recently bought 2003 2.0 GX.

I noticed this when I went to buy it, thought if it was important then I could source the part. I've noticed some engines with an additional piece of plastic taking the intake right up to the front of the car (above the grille). Is this necessary or is it ok to leave it as it is? 

Photo0826_zpsytjszzik.jpg

Thanks

I'm not an expert on the non turbo cars however it looks like the air filter box, maf sensor and snorkel has been removed, the snorkel is not that important however the maf and filter is. I would guess that they swapped over to a mushroom type filter at some point and haven't replaced it. It should look like this if stock.

The large black box houses the air filter, connected to the box is the MAF (mass air flow sensor) hen the pipe works to the engine.

2005103_subaru_imprezawagon_detail.jpg

4973174658_930787f6fb.jpg

In this pic although it's a legacy it shows the mushroom/pod filter instead of the stock air box and pipe work.

dsc00063gs.jpg

Hopefully one of the more techy minded guys can advise on the pros and cons of a maf delete

Get an air filter on ASAP I can't believe they would sell you it like this

His filter is further up - the worst thing that is happening is that the air entering the intake is a little warmer and therefore less dense.

---

@OP: You could either throw on an after market extension and a cone filter (then remove the panel filter further up) or you could source the 'directional' piece from a breakers yard.

• Like 1

Thank you all for your help with this.

I did try Google for a decent photo of the 2.0 GX engine, but I couldn't get a confirmed image, so thanks entr0py for this...

subaru__impreza_2_0_gx_4x4_combi_climate