New to Subaru with WRX

Xander

Hi guys,

So I have just ordered my first Subaru and pick it up next week. Went to help my dad pick up his new car and had to take the wrx for a test drive and it was like nothing I have driven before so after an mot I will be picking it up. I don't know much about it in terms of spec level and so on so if someone could give me some info would be helpful.

It's a 2008 wrx hatchback and I think it grill has been changed but I am no expert that's why I am here.

Thanks for any help.
Alex

post-3815-0-85374300-1424095484_thumb.pn

• Like 1

Hell mate welcome to S.O.C 

From my neck of the woods :D probably see me driving around well see a few of us on here. Definitely looks like it's had the front grill swapped at some point. But looks good to me :) 

Wotcha and welcome - I love a hatch me!!

some specs - if it has the TD04 turbo bhp will be around the 225 - 230 mark with 0-60 just under 6 seconds - I think it was later in 08 or the 09 wrx's where they changed the turbo for a VF52 and gave it a remap which got power up to 260 odd and dropped 0-60 under 5 secs. So if you end up wanting more power there is potential there but look to improve the chassis and brakes as well if it is the earlier model as it may be a bit soft and wallowy (dont think that is a word but hey ho :D )

looks like it is a grill change - more air to your rad, which is good ;)

keep us posted with how you get on!!

• Like 1

great news - it will indeed be a world apart from the Navara - mind you mpg is probably similar :D

So cheaper as petrol is cheaper than diesel :-D

That said V Power is about the same.... Is there a benefit to performance fuel with these cars?

Picked it up today and drove it about 150 miles home and am so happy with everything so far.

Just wondering how do I know if it has keyless entry? As I thought it did but so it didn't work so far tried the turn it on pattern in the manual but not sure I did it right as nothing happened.