water problem

Hi I am New to this site not long Got my second Scooby and it's got this really funny water problem did not no if any one had this happen befor car never runs no more the normal temp which is good normal drive in fine but when I give it a boot full it gets air in it and water comes out the overflow tank the engine is not std full forged metal head gaskets and ihi 22 turbo

I'm no expert but I would say you have a leak somewhere in the cooling System, check you rad hoses and the water pipes that feed the turbo.

My classic had a similar problem in that ticking over it would be fine but as soon as you drove it, the temp would shoot up and the system would boil over. This was all down to a tiny split in the top hose that would expand under presure and leak.

Hopefully some one more techincal may be able to shed some light on it.

do u hav a split in the rad itself at the plastic area at the side. I had this but leaked from that area not the over flow tank. the split expanded with temp of car. I would say this was a sign of the head gone or air lock but both I would say easy to tell and bet you checked and I am telling you how to suck eggs. but keep us informed as am very interested in what this is. ;)   

Doh Forgot about the rad, could be a pin hole in the rad.

Not saying Dogma is scaremongering, I heard all the stories of the head gasket going or warped heads, I also spent ages refilling the system trying to cure an airlock, but as I said it was a tiny pinhole leak in the end.

Just get the car up to temp and pressure and spend time looking for leaks. I have a head gasket sniffer test I bought and never used, happy to sell it on to someone who needs it.

• Like 1

Yeah mate do what Pete said first.but I've done quite a few head gaskets in my younger days and it sounds like it but we all hope it isn't good luck mate and think about things logically.

Ps) how do check for creamy oil in the head on the flat fours ?

• Like 1