Boost issue

Hi,

I have been treating my wrx with a bit of respect and learning how she behaves over the last few weeks, i have very rarely stamped my foot to the floor for a couple of reasons, i havent needed to, and the roads around my area have very few overtaking spaces and i dont want to risk anything in a car im still learning. This is not to say i havent experimented when its safe to do so though.

Today i noticed a strange thing when i overtook someone, went up to 5th put my foot back into the floor until i was safe then eased off.  As i passed the halfway mark back to 0 throttle all of a sudden i gained a load of boost and it surged forward a bit until i came off some more throttle.

My car seems to love living in the first half of the throttle. I only have seat of the pants figures to give you but it seems when you put your foot to the floor all you use is the 2.0 engine and less effective boost, i cant say how much because this is all still so new to me, but the difference is certainly noticeable and worthy of the word 'surge'.

Ive done as much browsing and searching as my overtired brain can cope with tonight, but all i can find is some one who seemed to have an over fueling problem and boost cut kicking in.  Mine doesnt die or jerk or judder like his did though,  i think im increasing in speed quite rapidly until i reduce throttle and use the first half of the distance your foot can travel.

Does this mean anything to anyone? Has it been remapped to this? Is it a failing part, the actuator? Is it over fueling? 

Im booking it in for a once over by my mechanic in the next few weeks when he has a free moment. but in the mean time if anyone has any info on the weird boosting i would be grateful.

Good news to finish on, ive just bought a Hayward and Scott back box for that classic scooby burble ive envied for years  ;D

Could be a stuck wastegate, dirty soliniod or over boost caused by a decat ? (If you have one). Possibly even a sticking throttle ??