Oil & Oil change

XVGUS

Hey guys

Ive always changed my oil every 6k because I like to keep it fairly fresh,Now my question is there any service lights or oil lights come on and need reset after I drop my oil?

Also what grade of oil should I use on my xv diesel 2014?

Thanks

Gus

• 2 weeks later...

I am not a qualified mechanic but I was informed that an engine reset was necessary after oil change.It has something to with ash burnt and age of oil. Can't provide the full mechanical and technical reason.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
On 02/08/2017 at 9:21 PM, XVGUS said:

Hey guys

Ive always changed my oil every 6k because I like to keep it fairly fresh,Now my question is there any service lights or oil lights come on and need reset after I drop my oil?

Also what grade of oil should I use on my xv diesel 2014?

Thanks

Gus

Hi XVGUS, I have a sneaking suspicion that there is a reset that you can do through the steering wheel controls, I'm 99% Sure I found the info online somewhere or even the XV Handbook...
Have a click through the settings/service with the steering wheel controls and look for anything to do with oil change, hopefully it will be obvious. Johnny B is right its something to do with pollutants in the oil. the car must do some wizardry dependant on the age/level of pollutants.

Also yes, I had a bit of a go at the suppliers of my XV as they had used 5W-30 in the service prior to me buying the car, I contacted Subaru UK, who said that 5W-30 is perfectly fine.

Have fun doing the oil, its so lovely having a filter on top of an engine. but be warned the oil will flood out the bottom once that sump plug is out!

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

HI XVGUS,

I take 2 empty 5l oil containers to my subaru dealer and they fill with the correct 'Havoline' engine oil they specify for the diesal.

It works out cheaper than buying on eBay this way and they supply a filter also.