Hi club members

neilned

Hi , I am Neil , Bricklayer from Rochester Kent, and I am at the point in my life when I can own a scooby. I am not a proud owner yet but am busy looking. I would love a P1, but have not seen any in my area for sale, the ones that are for sale seem to get snapped up. So I have started looking at coupe import type R models , but to the unexperianced this seems to be a mine field ,, I am also struggling with insurance quotes as I would like to insure my chosen car in a classic/limited mileage group as I drive a transit most of the time, if any one can help with the differences of "type" r, ra etc . Thanks and all the best for this year ... Neil 

Wotcha and welcome Neil, great cars the P1 and TypeR. Off top of head think the RA has 4 doors but I also believe there are mods like alloy bonnet to make it lighter, Im on tapatalk so cannot get the links to a Web site which details differences, it is in a couple of threads already if you search the impreza part of the forum.

Someone else will probably fill in the gaps but if not ill dig it out later

Hi n welcome to soc ,nice choice of scoob the 2 door classic .

Basic Type r's are pretty much a 2 door version of the 4 classic saloon wrx sti with dccd (direct control center diff) allows you to adjust power from front to rear .

P1's are rarer due to the lower build numbers have a different interior rear spoiler longer uk gear ratios but no dccd .

Ra stands for race altered and subaru did 2 and 4 door versions of these which normally means it's a bit lighter .

I don't know what they did to 4 door Wrx ra's to change them tbh

Wrx sti ra's have a working roof scoop(not a Halfords stick on) manual window winders (saves the weight from the leccy motors) and some earlier ones have no side skirts (to save weight)

Type r ra's pretty much the same as the wrx sti ra's (albeit with only 2 doors)