Nevell,s engine build

Nevell

First of all I'm a complete amateur at engine building but not driveway mechanics ,done engine swaps gearboxes etc but still I'm stepping into the void lol ,the reason I want to do this is I have my subaru impreza wrx2002 bugeye tuned to 1.5 bar on a vf43 turbo with supporting mods , and I love giving it the beans but I have just destroyed a 5 speed gearbox ,and had to replace etc , this got me thinking with a 110'000 miles on her and being a completely standard ej205 not to sure how long she will last, so once the engine is built I'll be dropping it in her :-) , but also because It will be fun , but as I'm building the engine from scratch in my shed she will still be on the road . So all good , I'll be using a mixture of new and second hand parts and when ready using the auxiliary parts off the engine I have 'possibly the newage wrx heads aswell will see , and I'm only looking in the end to max out my vf43 so the build will only have to cope with 400bhp max and be reliable this build will be over the year so bear with .... Then I'll start thinking about a 6speed box :-)

post-2376-0-55046900-1436901719_thumb.jp

First step will be looking for a good but cheap ish bare block

Open deck ( easiest to find can't find anyone who has warped block etc under 500 bhp but can I get away with one ??

Semi closed deck( best option as already ready rear thrust but same price as cdb

Closed deck ( overkill on my build ? And will have to get converted to rear thrust bearing type or leave centre type ?

But have no practical experience with this :-)

I'm banging on about rear thrust type as there is more choice of crankshaft I.e nitrated spec c etc but most likely be using a oem new spec one ,and trying to stick to stock oem tolerances