What to do with my 1999 Subaru Classic...

Hi all, I'm new to SOC but have had my classic now for 7 years or so & love her to bits!  

Over that time I've changed jobs a lot, so she’s been used for local commuting, long distance commuting and just weekend driving when I've worked from home.

She had the PPP (Prodrive Performance Pack) fitted from new but has been otherwise left completely standard since she left the factory (outputting a modest but fun 240 BHP).  She has the obvious rust in the wheel arches, but for a 22-year-old car on around 130k miles she’s in pretty good condition. 

I'm now at a point where I don't know what to do with her and am looking for some guidance.  What I'd really like to do is fully restore her to show room condition and then keep in a garage, using her occasionally through the summer months etc., but my finances don't really cater for that just yet, plus I don't have a garage at home. 

I presently work from home, so she's hardly used and just sat on the drive, to the point where taxing and insuring even seems like a waste of money.  I could sell, but don't think I could bear to see her leave.  I have an offer of an empty garage 20 miles from where I live, but I’m worried she’ll just slowly rust away and get forgotten. 

She’s not a P1 or RB5, so I know her value now or in the future, won’t be in those kind of lofty regions, but does this shape, the standard aspaect or even the PPP make her a collectable for the future?  If so, then maybe I try to preserve as best as possible, and keep standard to maybe fully restore.  If not, then maybe I start tuning her up and get closer to the STI power output and just continue to have fun with her for as long as possible?

Thanks for reading!

2000 WRX.jpg

• Like 2