Rough Idle

Sonic11

Right guys, im a newbie! Literally joined 5 minutes ago! The scoob ive got now is a Subaru Impreza turbo 2000 and its my first ever scoob. 

The issue I DID have was the sensation of the revs hitting the limiter at only 4500rpm! I then got a new MAF and this problem was solved, it now pulls like a train. The NEW problem now is it has rough idle, the revs keep on fluctuating between 300rpm to just over 1000rpm. It sometimes stalls at traffic lights....the other issues is when the car drops to about 300rpm and is about to stall (when im standing by the back of the car) i can see a hint of black smoke? And it is smelling a bit oily? :( Any help would very much be appreciated.

Before replacing the MAF i replaced plugs (gapped them to 0.7mm) and leads.

Thanks

Cai  

Hi mate sounds exactly like the MAF again to me Did you buy it new ?

But from what people have changed before in the past or has caused the same problems 

• Low 95 Ron Fuel 
  • Cone filter (killing the Maf Sensor if it's oiled)
  • dump valve (some subaru engines just don't like them)
  • Spark Plugs ( Wrong gaps would cause it too)
  • IAC (Idle Air Control Valve)
  • TPS (throttle position sensor)
  • Split pipes/vacuum hoses or loose (check them with some warm soapy water with a water sprayer)
  • throttle body ( Gets gunked up, just needs a clean) 
  • 02 Sensor/Lambda Sensor

Thats all I can think of at the minute mate I would maybe look at the plugs check that its the right gap. I would always start with the cheaper options 1st have you checked at all for any codes and cleared them from the bad maf before ?

Oh and welcome to S.O.C feel free to have a look around and join in good bunch of Ladies and Gentlemen if you can call-em that on here ;)

Hi and welcome,

Try reading your fault codes. That should point you in the right direction.

Here's a how to guide

http://uk.subaruownersclub.com/forums/topic/2366-manually-reading-ecu-codes/