Tyre Squeel

MaximXLP

Hi All,

I'm a newbie on here, and have just bought a 2005 Forester 2.0XT.

Lovely car, but there is an odd thing with it .... the front offside tyre squeels when turning right (especially at lower speeds!)

Tyre pressure is okay (28PSI), the tyres are nearly new Yokhama Geolandars, and it's just flown through an MOT.

Should I suspect tracking & toe-in, or has anybody had similar.

Thanks, and looking forward to getting involved with the Forum.

Sounds like it's catching on something to me. Can you put it on full lock while parked up, then have a look around the wheel arch?

Sent from my iphone using Tapatalk

Thanks David, it's a tyre skidding squeel on the road rather than something on the tyre, the same as you would expect from a tyre that needs air.

I'm thinking that if the toe-in isn't right, it may be crabbing a bit and 'dragging the tyre around the corner.

Are you sure it the tyre squealing & not the power steering pump pulley belt squealing on that particular lock at low speed.

Any sign on tread wear suggesting alignment issue.

Are the tyres new all round (important all tyres are evenly matched)

Would assume MOT would of picked up on any fault with suspension but could be wise give it a good visual as perhaps something could be slightly bent from likes of curbing at speed !

one of my previous cars used to squeal when turning or accelerating on certain types of tarmac. at first it was great fun in the underground car park at meadowhall, but it did get annoying after 5 minutes of driving around trying to find a space

does it do it on every surface? it might just be done to the tyre's

Thanks All! .... what a great Forum.

I think maybe a good laser set up as a starting point. This should show up pothole damage or mis-alignment.

Tyres are not 'budget', and are fairly new with all the same wear. This could have ben a recent pothole.