Boost Issues, '94 Wagon

Hi All,

I'm Andrew from Newcastle. I have just introduced myself over in the newbies section.

Bought my first impreza, a '94 Import WRX Wagon a month ago.

The car is generally very tidy and has been looked after, with no major rust or any severe mechanical problems. The car isnt using any oil or coolant.

Anyway down to the boost problem. Here's a link to a video I recently uploaded to YouTube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwCe3crQu_0

The problem gets worse when the car is under heavy load and I have experienced fuel cut once or twice.

Also if I lightly feather the throttle, the boost stays high and the car is like a rocket, however if I am heavy footed the boost drops low and the car feels like a diesel truck!

I am completely new to subaru and turbo ownership, however I would say I was fairly competent at some home mechanic-ing (replaced engines etc).

If I could rattle the brains of you more experienced owners at diagnosing the problem, I may be able to have ago at fixing it myself!

Anyway thanks for any replies in advance!

Cheers swanie999 smile.gif

P.S Sorry about the shania twain and shaking in the video!

Boost creep is sometimes caused by a faulty actuator not controlling the wastegate accurately .

Especially if it's decatted and not remapped as the ecu might struggle to keep the boost targets in the standard map parameters.

It could just be a leaky vacuum pipe or the boost solenoid might need to be cleaned or replaced

Have you done a classic self code check? (by connecting the plugs under the dash)

I've been doing some reading, I would probably describe it as 'partial throttle, full boost', then when I go to full throttle the boost drops...

Would 'partial throttle, full boost' be caused by the same problem as boost creep?

No I havent done a the self code check.. been looking at how to go about it... I think I shall have to give it a go when I get a spare five mins.