1st time impreza buyer help needed

GO05EJR

hi all

I am a qualified technician and have been for 17 years and always fancied a impreza but never bothered until now

basically I am wanting some advise as with now started working on roadside and not having full use of a workshop I have some issues

I am wanting to know what the best impreza is to buy sub £8k but lower if possible

I am going to use as my daily however only doing 30 mile a week

want a totally standard one

only things I will be doing is a budget full exhaust system purely because am not after performance just to free up the standard one and to have that lush tone they all have

more likely to ad a filter weather it be cone or pannel

will upgrade radiator and hoses to silicone

not after power as just want a pretty reliable car that looks n sounds the part and can have good fun in

I love the hawk eye shape and blog eye but not fussed

so whats the pro's and cons ie 2.0 or 2.5 turbo

and even if the frog eye was the most suited for my needs i'd have one of those

and of course needs to be a saloon as looking in the rear view and seeing that big spoiler puts that smile you had when you 1st past passed your test at 17 and picked ur 1st !Removed! up haha

so all comments pics etc welcome cheers

Goose

Basically:

1. Sti - stronger engine + running gear, more power, higher tune possibilities. WRX - still fast and fun but much cheaper to buy

2. 2.5 engines - quite high failure rates (google "impreza ringlands"), same power as 2.0 but higher torque. Also majority are higher tax bracket although you can ocassionally find an early 05 Hawk registered still within old tax bracket, very rare though. If you buy 2.5 it would be best if you put money aside for engine rebuild / forging (unless you buy already forged but unlikely under 8k). 2.0 - really good engines, with panel filter and decat exhaust after remap you'll get extra 50-60bhp.