2006 sti will not start

Hello, I have a 2006 Subaru Impreza WRX STI, I am a technician but have hit a wall as I just can't work out why this car won't start.

So I had a compression issue with my engine but the car was driving and starting fine, I removed the engine to find the issue which ended up being a bad piston, I have just finished rebuilding the engine which has taken a couple of weeks, the engine is pretty much standard. The engine was back in the car and was ready to start, but upon turning the key the engine would only crank but not start. 

Now the compression sounds good and the engine is turning at an expected rate, I have no faults in the car, I can hear the fuel pump and have double checked the feal lines are the correct way around, I have also checked the spark, it would spark once just as I start cranking and then never again (this makes me believe the ecu is deciding not to start for some reason), I have unplugged the air mass sensor but still no joy, so moved on to checking the timing, that was all good, but I did unplug the cam sensors just to see if it would start, but again no, I have checked all my connectors which again are all plugged in, and have checked the fuses which are also ok.

I am now stuck, this isn't the 1st time I've had the engine out of this car and never had this issue before, so please any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks Craig 

• 4 weeks later...

Have now found that bank 1 (cylinder 1 & 3) car sparking correctly but on bank 2 they spark only the once, have change the cam sensor that side but still no good, can't work out what would stop one side of the engine form sparking 

• 2 weeks later...

Does the other bank spark all the time or stop after a full rotation?

As I had a similar problem when I had a bent pin on the crank sprocket. It would turn over ,spark once and then cut spark once it noticed the bent sprocket pin