2.5 XT EJ255 TO DO LIST

nidgep

hi guys

I'm hoping this post will be a work in progress, and in the process help me to learn about the car, and which areas of maintenance to concentrate on in order of importance.

My competence level: I've done various jobs on various cars, but nothing major in more recent times. I have no experience of Subaru's.

OK, I've long since fancied owning a Subaru Forester and finally bought a 54 plate Forester 2.5 XT (1st reg Nov 2004).

It's got 155,000 miles on the clock with 2 previous owners, and a fair amount of service history, mostly main dealer.

Has a stainless cat back exhaust so sounds nice but not too loud. The engine is pretty quiet and pulls well.

Since buying the car, the following work has been done.

• Full service, including front rear diff oil (Millers fully synthetic engine oil)
  • NSR wheel bearing replaced (was noisy when I bought the car)
  • Cam belt (Gates) replaced (not water pump or tensioners though),
  • Antifreeze flushed and replaced along with a new thermostat
  • Brake fluid replaced
  • Front drop links and anti roll bar bushes replaced

Jobs still to do

• Drivers door window doesn't work -
    • have already bought a 2nd hand motor ready to replace
  • NSR rear shocker was leaking at last MOT and was replaced with an aftermarket one (not self levelling)
    • OSR is still stock self levelling, so only one side replaced (grr).
    • I have bought a set of Pedders EziFit struts ready to fit,
      • but want to take the time to clean down and paint the suspension strut housings with zinc primer and then coat the arches with under body seal/stone guard before refitting the new struts.
  • OSF side light bulb is much dimmer that the NSF, so needs replacing

Jobs I would like to do

• Do something with the brakes - they seem to work ok but have a very dead feel and not confidence inspiring
    • Sensible upgrade suggestions appreciated (£££)
  • Stop the wind noise!