08 impreza wrx hatch help required!!!!!!

Niko169

Hi all recently bought an 08 wrx that is stock and I am getting mixed opinions on how to go about getting power out of it looking to get as much power as possible on stock internals but every thing else is game but haven't got a silver spoon in my mouth :D (if you no what I mean ) and go easy on me this is my first Scrooby so go easy on me 

Thanks for listening to me winge 😀

I'm not an expert (very far from it) but when I was looking for one, I did some research. What I found is that the 2.5L can (an I emphasise can) suffer from ringland problems and head gasket problems. So I went for the blobeye to minimise the risk. So the first thing I would do, if I was you, would have the engine stripped and rebuilt and get these parts sorted before I think about upping the power.

Again I'm not an expert and I hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

Sti suffer ringland,wrx can suffer head gasket going.my first hatch suffered head gasket failure and it was standard apart from a exhaust.make sure its been look after good service history and regular oil changes.

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

I've not started increasing the power on mine yet as I have started with the brakes and suspension. Will be interested to see how you get on though. First stop I guess would be to speak with whoever you plan on getting the car mapped by. I'm hoping to get mine done by Andy Forrest next year. Get their opinion on the best upgrades and what products they are happy to use during mapping. 

• Like 1

I am quite confident with the health of the engine the service history is massive but like you say anything can happen I don't want 2 push it to its very limit just decent power  as (as the older generation hate getting dusted by a 24 year old ) 😁😁😁

Just now, Niko169 said:

If iI wanted to go down turbo and injector route would that compromise the standard block ?